2017 NSAA Softball Tournament Brackets set

2017 NSAA Softball Tournament Brackets set

MADISON, S.D. – The brackets for the 2017 North Star Athletic Association (NSAA) Postseason Softball Tournament are set.  Dickinson State (N.D.), defending two-time North Star Softball Postseason Tournament Champions, will be this year's conference tournament host site, with the opening round starting on Friday, May 5.

Top eight seeds advance to the NSAA Softball Postseason Conference Tournament, which feature two brackets with four teams each—Bracket A and Bracket B—using a double-elimination within each bracket.  The seeding is based on the regular-season North Star conference record (winning percentage).

Bellevue (Neb.) (45-12 overall record, 20-6 NSAA conference record) will be the top overall seed for the North Star Softball Conference Tournament.  The Bruins will be placed in Bracket A section of the tournament, along with No. 4 seed Viterbo (Wis.) (21-29 overall record, 16-10 NSAA), No. 5 seed Mayville State (N.D.) (20-24 overall record, 14-14 NSAA) and No. 8 seed Waldorf (Iowa) (15-27 overall record, 7-19 NSAA).

The NSAA conference tournament kicks off with the Bruins taking on the Warriors on Friday morning at 11 a.m. (Central Time)/10 a.m. (Mountain Time) on Field 2, followed by the V-Hawks taking on the Comets at 1 p.m. (CT)/12 p.m. (MT).  The double-elimination continues with a loser's out game on Friday at 3 p.m. (CT)/2 p.m. (MT), a winner's bracket game on Friday at 5 p.m. (CT)/4 p.m. (MT) and another loser's out game at 12 p.m. (CT)/11 a.m. (MT) on Saturday.

The final two remaining teams in Bracket A competing for the NSAA conference championship berth is scheduled for Saturday at 2 p.m. (CT)/1 p.m. (MT).  If the team with no loss in Bracket A loses that game, an 'if necessary' game will be played on Sunday at 1 p.m. (CT)/12 p.m. (MT).

Jamestown (N.D.) (36-18 overall record, 21-7 NSAA) is the No. 2 seed and will play in the Bracket B section along with No. 3 seed Dickinson State (N.D.) (22-22 overall record, 17-9 NSAA), No. 6 seed Valley City State (N.D.) (19-28 overall record, 10-16 NSAA) and No. 7 seed Presentation (S.D.) (21-30 overall record, 10-18 NSAA).

The Jimmies will kick off the Bracket B section versus the Saints at 12 p.m. (CT)/11 a.m. (MT), followed by the host-team Blue Hawks taking on the Vikings at 2 p.m. (CT)/1 p.m. (MT) on Field 4.  The double-elimination tournament continues with a loser's out game at 4 p.m. (CT)/3 p.m. (MT), winner's bracket game at 6 p.m. (CT)/5 p.m. (MT) and another loser's out game on Saturday at 1 p.m. (CT)/12 p.m. (MT).

The final two remaining teams in Bracket B will compete for the NSAA championship berth is slated for Saturday at 3 p.m. (CT)/2 p.m. (MT).  If the team with no loss in Bracket B loses that game, an 'if necessary' game is set for Sunday at 12 p.m.

The winners of Bracket A and Bracket B will meet in the NSAA Championship Game, featuring a best-of-three series format on Field 2.  Depending on the outcome of each bracket, the first championship game is set for either 1 p.m. (CT)/12 p.m. (MT) or 3:30 p.m. (CT)/2:30 p.m. (MT) on Sunday.  The second game of the best-of-three series is slated for Sunday at 3:30 p.m. (CT)/2:30 p.m. (MT) or Monday at 12 p.m. (CT)/11 a.m. (MT).  The third and 'if necessary' game is set for Monday at 2:30 p.m. (CT)/1:30 p.m. (MT).

The tournament champion receives the NSAA's automatic berth to the NAIA Softball National Championship Opening Round, which will be played on May 15-17 at nine different campus announced by the NAIA.

Dakota State (S.D.) did not qualify for the North Star Softball Conference Tournament and ended their season at an overall record of 14-35 and 5-21 NSAA.

All games will be played at North Softball Complex in Dickinson, N.D.

Dickinson State games can be heard on KDIX Radio here.

NSAA STRETCH INTERNET LIVE VIDEO - LIVE DAKSTATS TOURNAMENT LINK PAGE - NSAA TWITTER

2017 North Star Athletic Association Softball Championship – hosted by Dickinson State (N.D.) University
(Overall Record, NSAA record) – Times in Central Time/Mountain Time

Friday, May 5, 2017 - Bracket A - Field 2 - North Softball Complex - Dickinson, N.D.
Game 1:  No. 8 seed Waldorf (Iowa) (15-27, 7-19 NSAA) vs. No. 1 seed Bellevue (Neb.) (45-12, 20-6 NSAA) – 11 a.m. (Central Time)/10 a.m. (Mountain Time) LIVE VIDEO LIVE STATS BOX SCORE RECAP
Game 2:  No. 5 seed Mayville State (N.D.) (20-24, 14-14) vs. No. 4 seed Viterbo (Wis.) (21-29, 16-10 NSAA) – 1 p.m. (Central Time)/12 p.m. (Mountain Time) LIVE VIDEO LIVE STATS BOX SCORE RECAP
Game 3 (Loser's Out Game):  Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2 – 3 p.m. (Central Time)/2 p.m. (Mountain Time) LIVE VIDEO LIVE STATS BOX SCORE RECAP
Game 4 (Winner's Bracket Game):  Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2 – 5 p.m. (Central Time)/4 p.m. (Mountain Time LIVE VIDEO LIVE STATS BOX SCORE RECAP
 
Friday, May 5, 2017 - Bracket B - Field 4 - North Softball Complex - Dickinson, N.D.
Game 1:  No. 7 seed Presentation (S.D.) (21-30, 10-18 NSAA) vs. No. 2 seed Jamestown (N.D.) (36-18, 21-7 NSAA) – 12 p.m. (Central Time)/11 a.m. (Mountain Time) LIVE VIDEO LIVE STATS BOX SCORE RECAP
Game 2:  No. 6 seed Valley City State (N.D.) (19-28, 10-16 NSAA) vs. No. 3 seed Dickinson State (N.D.) (22-22, 17-9 NSAA) – 2 p.m. (Central Time)/1 p.m. (Mountain Time) LIVE VIDEO LIVE STATS BOX SCORE RECAP
Game 3 (Loser's Out Game):  Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2 – 4 p.m. (Central Time)/3 p.m. (Mountain Time) LIVE VIDEO LIVE STATS BOX SCORE RECAP
Game 4 (Winner's Bracket Game):  Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2 – 6 p.m. (Central Time)/5 p.m. (Mountain Time) LIVE VIDEO LIVE STATS BOX SCORE RECAP

 

Saturday, May 6, 2017 - Bracket A - Field 4 - North Softball Complex - Dickinson, N.D.
Game 5 (Loser's Out Game):  Winner Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4 – 12 p.m. (Central Time)/11 a.m. (Mountain Time) LIVE VIDEO LIVE STATS BOX SCOR RECAP
Game 6 (Bracket A Championship Game):  Winner Game 4 vs. Winner Game 5 – 2 p.m. (Central Time)/1 p.m. (Mountain Time) LIVE VIDEO LIVE STATS BOX SCORE RECAP
 
Saturday, May 6, 2017 - Bracket B - Field 2 - North Softball Complex - Dickinson, N.D.
Game 5 (Loser's Out Game):  Winner Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4 – 1 p.m. (Central Time)/12 p.m. (Mountain Time) LIVE VIDEO LIVE STATS BOX SCORE RECAP
Game 6 (Bracket B Championship Game):  Winner Game 4 vs. Winner Game 5 – 3 p.m. (Central Time)/2 p.m. (Mountain Time) LIVE VIDEO LIVE STATS BOX SCORE RECAP

 Sunday, May 8, 2016
If Bracket A and/or B suffer first loss in tournament:
Bracket A:  
Winner Game 6 vs. Loser Game 6 – 1 p.m. (Central Time)/12 p.m. (Mountain Time) – Field 4
Bracket B:  Winner Game 6 vs. Loser Game 6 – 1 p.m. (Central Time)/12 p.m. (Mountain Time) – Field 2

If there is no 'if necessary' game, then NSAA Championship Game – Best-of-three series (Field 4):
Championship Game #1:  Bracket A winner vs. Bracket B winner – 1 p.m. (Central Time)/12 p.m. (Mountain Time) or 3:30 p.m. (Central Time)/2:30 p.m. (Mountain Time)
Championship Game #2 – 3:30 p.m. (Central Time)/2:30 p.m. (Mountain Time) (if only two games)

Monday, May 9, 2016
NSAA Championship Game – Best-of-three series (if there were 'if necessary' bracket games on Sunday):
Championship Game #2 
– 12 p.m. (Central Time)/11 a.m. (Mountain Time)
Championship Game #3 (If necessary) – 2:30 p.m. (Central Time)/1:30 p.m. (Mountain Time)

Nick Huntimer, North Star Athletic Association Sports Information Director